Monday, September 14, 2015

Owning Violet Review...



New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series - €”perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase - that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I'€™ve moved through life doing what'€™s expected of me. I'€™m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family's business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it'€™s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary - perhaps even more so. He's also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I'€™ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I'm hooked. Ryder'€™s like a powerful drug, and I'€™m an addict who doesn'€™t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren't pure, and I believe him. For once, I don'€™t care. I'm willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.

Advance praise for Owning Violet

€œOwning Violet owned me from the first page to the last. Ryder and Violet'€™s chemistry is off the charts! Read it, own it, love it! -€”New York Timesbestselling author Katy Evans

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
REVIEW (by Glendalys):

I give this book 4 stars!

Violet survived a vicious attack only to become complacent.  She became the dutiful daughter always doing what is expected of her.  Dating the safe guy who her family approves of. Even though she knows he isn't a good man she settles.  She settles for him having other women and putting his career before her. One night while at dinner with her boyfriend she runs into Ryder an employee from her family's company and he starts to awaken feelings and sensations she didn't know existed. She starts to question everything.  But Ryder has a motive and his motive includes seducing Violet to get ahead in the company.

I enjoyed this book.  The author's writing was brilliant.  Violet was a girl and went through something horrible that altered her life. She stopped taking risks and became the woman her family wanted her to be of of who she really was.  Zachary just wanted Violet to get ahead in the company.  He treated her horribly and didn't make her a priority.  Violet knew this but chose to keep on living the same way until Ryder.  Ryder became who he was thanks to Pilar and boy she doesn't let him forget it.  Their stories were beautiful because they both were broken and had horrible pasts but together they were gonna make a beautiful future.  I have to admit I loved Ryder.  He was hot and sexy as hell.  I didn't enjoy Violet that much I wanted her to have a backbone.  Stick up for herself.  After surviving an attack how can she put up with Zachary.  It annoyed me.  And Pilar seriously needed someone to kick her ass.  Those were the reasons I didn't give the book 5 stars.  Beyond that it was a great story and with some great characters.  I enjoyed every scene where Ryder and Violet interacted.  They were hot together.  Even though Pilar and Violet annoyed me at times I would still recommend this book to friends.